Glory On, Y’all 

(Written by: Emily Matthews)

I like the psalms. It’s like David totally gets me.

He loved God, but he also complains at times because life is HARD.

God can handle a little complaining. I think he wants all of us… and not the polished, prettied-up version we show the outside world. He wants us just the way we are.

We can’t fake it anyway. Because he knows us. He knows me. And he knows you. (Psalm 139)

Like it or not, he knows the good and bad. So, in my opinion, we need to stop faking it with God. It’s a waste of time.

This brings me to psalm 34.

I will glory in the Lord; let the afflicted hear and rejoice. glorify the Lord with me; let us exalt his name together. Psalm 34:2

I LOVE that “glory” is a verb here – an action word.

“I will glory.”

What does that mean?
Maybe it is different for everyone…

I have a runner friend who said when she runs she feels God’s glory. So for her, to “glory” may be to run. But maybe not for others.

How do you glory?

Pray? Worship through music? Watch a sunset? Appreciate fresh flowers?

His glory is everywhere. We just need to look through the right lenses to see it and use the everyday to glorify. Verse 1 of this psalm says, “his praise will always be on my lips.”

What if our go-to response was glory? I can only imagine how that might change our day-to-day.

David goes on to say “let the afflicted hear and rejoice, glorify with me.” (Verse 2.)

The bible is kind of like an instruction manual for life.

Are you afflicted? Then glory.
Troubled? Then glory.
Worried? Stressed? Overwhelmed? Glory.
Unsure of what to do? Glory.

See a pattern here?

Another note to take away from our key verse:

“Let us exalt his name together.” Together. Not alone. Not in secret. Not privately. So let’s make a date to glory together.

Sound like a plan?

Glory on, y’all.

Leave a Reply

