Hello, My Name is Emily…

Last week, we met Kristin in our “Hello, my name is…” series. Today, everybody say hello to Emily!

 

Hello, my name is Emily…

Likes: are coffee, chocolate, running, reading, and bathing (yes, it is a hobby).

Dislikes: potty training, the stomach bug, Caillou, homework, and temper tantrums.

But seriously, I have been blessed to lead and be a part of a {moms at hope} group since 2009. Literally just weeks after I became a mom, I joined. So my group has raised my kids with me.

I have been married to Jeremy for 9 years. When we married, we decided we weren’t going to have kids. And we told people that when they asked, “when are the kids coming?”

Well.

Clearly God has a sense of humor, because we had FOUR kids in FIVE years.

If you have been around when my kids are present for more than 5 minutes, you have realized I am not one of those Has-It-Together Moms. We are loud and strong willed. (That is code for the kids don’t listen in public and embarrass me on the daily.) Seriously, my youngest is on a harness (read: leash) so she doesn’t run off (or I don’t forget about her… just kidding. Sort of. *wink*). So, I’m a mom who – with God’s grace – is just trying to make it through each day with out screwing up too badly.

Some days are better than others.

This mom gig is hard sometimes. Everyone does is differently, and no one is doing it “right.” A verse I like to filter things through is Matthew 6:33.

Seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all of these things will be given to you as well.

As long as we seek first his kingdom, tune into God and what is His best for us, we will do just fine.

I’m not belittling our struggles as moms. They are real and they are hard. But we have to put them into proper perspective.

If we focus on a holy perspective for this mom thing, than some of the worldly stuff just isn’t a big deal.

So my motto? Don’t sweat the small stuff.

We can be a hot mess in public with our kids on leashes and be totally embarrassed everyday. But we should keep messing up because we are doing it right!

IMG_1686

 

Leave a Reply

