Hello, My Name is Doty…

It’s another week in our “Hello, my name is…” series. Today, say hello to Doty!

Hello, my name is Doty…

My name is Doty… not Dotty. 😉

Doty is short for Dorothy Jane. (I’m named after both of my grandmothers.)

I’m a huge Ole Miss fan (I met my husband there and – believe it or not – became a Christian there). I’m a mom to 3 girls, a leader in the 2009 moms group, a former CPA, a cheer coach, a rep for a nutrition company, a new photographer and a new runner. All of this means there no more monogramming (I sold my thread on the facebook black market for a while) and no more math tutoring or subbing.

Yay! I’m narrowing down the list of stuff!

Though I don’t say any of this to act like I’m “so busy.”

Because my “busyness” has been an important part of my journey. My journey to figure out what I really want to do after my former life as a CPA.

You see, that part of my life was really stressful and during it I developed Crohn’s disease. I was taking 23 (HUGE) pills per day, and all I wanted to do was be healthy enough to have kids. My goal (I thought) was to avoid having surgery since I had such a high risk of it coming back. So I tried to get on a clinical trial.

I can’t explain how perfect God’s timing was for me to already be in the hospital the day my small intestine perforated. My CT scan was already scheduled for after it “just happened” to happen.

I didn’t know it had perforated. I was in my hospital room eating tomato soup when the surgeon came in and said there was a hole in my intestine and I would have to go have surgery immediately. The surgery put me in remission, and that surgeon was the one who led me to the nutrition company I’m a rep for.

Crohns 2007

I’ve now been in remission 9 years this coming May … God’s perfect timing and plan.

The Sunday after my surgery, I was back at church singing “All Things Work Together.” It really meant a lot to me after everything I had just been through with my Crohn’s disease. Ever since, this verse has really held a special place in my heart:

And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose. {Rom 8:28}

I love being part of a moms group at Hope and am thankful that I have been part of it ever since my oldest was born in 2009. One of the “perks” of being a leader is being able to go on the leader’s retreat every August.

I came across the following verse at one of these retreats a couple of years ago:

The LORD will guide you always; he will satisfy your needs in a sun-scorched land and will strengthen your frame. You will be like a well-watered garden, like a spring whose waters never fail. {Isaiah 58:11}

The difference between the well-watered garden and sun-scorched land really hit me…

So many people around us are living life in a sun-scorched land and not in a well-watered garden. We are the well-watered garden because we have been filled up with true Living Water from Jesus.

In my mind, I saw every person holding a cup out in front of them symbolizing how spiritually filled up they were or not. Then I pictured leaders and Jesus-followers running around trying to fill up everyone’s cup. I thought about how worn down and burnt out that would make us all, and realized it is because we aren’t supposed to be running around filling up everyone’s cup. Instead, we should be showing everyone the stream of living water where they can go fill up their own cup.

Moms, let’s not forget to keep ourselves renewed spiritually/emotionally/physically so that we won’t run dry while we are nurturing these little people God has entrusted us with.

Therefore we do not lose heart. Though outwardly we are wasting away, yet inwardly we are being renewed day by day.{2 Corinthians 4:16}

Though outwardly, these little people may be giving us way too many wrinkles and gray hair, inwardly we can stay young and grow closer to God every day (and I really think that will shine through the aging exterior!). We can continue to find more and more purpose while we are visiting this temporary home.

~Doty

all 4 girls
all 4 girls

 

(P.S. Is it weird that the whole time I wrote this, I’m thinking about how Kristin is just going to die that I still put 2 spaces after every sentence? I’m sure she will have to go back and fix all that before it becomes blog-ready. Love ya K-Fun!)


One thought on “Hello, My Name is Doty…

  1. Doty, I loved this. Thank you for sharing your journey and struggles. The cup analogy spoke directly to me today. As our Moms group has grown and I have come to know and love these women, I am sometimes tempted to try to fill all the cups. I will continue to rejoice with those that rejoice and mourn with those that mourn, and then point them to God. I am not meant to “fix” it. For my friends or my teens. I must surrender that control daily. xo,
    Melissa

    Like

Leave a Reply

