Hello, My Name is Kimberly…

Today, we say hello to Kimberly in our “Hello, my name is…” series.

Hello, my name is Kimberly…

12227172_10153752077473735_5800288678134205010_n

Hello, my name is Kimberly. I’m wife to Meredith, mom to 2-year-old, silly boy Baird, and expecting a baby GIRL this summer!! I also claim the title of part-time Pediatric Gastroenterology nurse (read: I talk to kids about their poop and tummy troubles) and I (sometimes) Substitute Teacher for bible studies at church (I gave myself this title, but it fits).

My hobbies include working out (except during pregnancy… in which my only form of cardio is chewing…) reading, writing, cooking and I think I used to be crafty?

What I actually do: watch PBS, fix toddler problems, try not to get too dirty while playing outside with Baird, go to Kroger, Target, and kids’ places, attend my {moms at hope} group (my weekly sanity, social outlet, and spiritual refresher all in one!), cook food that doesn’t get eaten and sometimes squeeze in the hobbies listed above during nap time, if I don’t decide to take a nap myself!

I love being a mom. But sometimes it’s hard to see past all the “play” to realize I’m doing something spectacular with my time. But God uses my child to give me glimpses of His truth.

My son is fixated on a pink golf ball right now. He plays with it, naps with it and carries it with us in the car. There are ample opportunities to lose this thing and I find myself looking for it daily.

We do a lot of searching as moms. We search for favorite toys that have gone missing, pacis, keys we placed somewhere, the phone that’s in our hand… Recently, I searched frantically for a credit card that turns out I dropped into the dark abyss of my purse. (Found it!)

If you’ve lost something of value you know searching for it is no fun. You have no idea where to look, how long it will take, or if you’ll ever find it. It is possibly an unending activity that may or may not yield results. It doesn’t seem like a good return for our time. We do it out of necessity.

I think that moms are also searching for more abstract things. At least I am. We search for a steady routine, peace and quiet, answers, meaning, value, relief, and the less obtainable moment when life will finally feel easy. We are searching for contentment. We try to find it in how many educational activities we do with our children, or how healthy we are in diet and exercise. We put our trust in our talents and occupations. We try to find it in our spouses, or in solitude.

This is what God’s Word says,

“Come to me, all you that are weary and are carrying heavy burdens, and I will give you rest.” (Matthew 11: 28)

That sounds really good to me.

How about I lay this heavy burden and constant searching down at the feet of Jesus so that I can kick my own feet up and receive His rest? Even if his rest isn’t physical, it will still be a great relief to my weary mom soul. I’m finding I don’t need everything to be perfect, I just need a moment of rest. God is teaching me how to receive his rest, his peace, in the midst of normal, chaotic life.

Do not worry about anything, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God. And the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus. (Philippians 4:6-7)

Nothing brings you to your knees before the Lord like having children. Whether I’m worried about my little daredevil, or I’m praying for our own sanity, I definitely pray a lot more. God’s Word tells us that we are to pray about everything and that the peace of God will guard our hearts and minds. I love this verse because I feel like I’ve found this secret, that if I stay connected to God through prayer he will take my burdens, trade my worries, and give me his peace.

So what I’m learning to do is search for my contentment in the Lord who is the same yesterday, today, and forever (Hebrews 13:8) instead of chasing for meaning elsewhere, especially being the perfect parent. The contentment and peace that God brings is deep, good and real.

Plus, if I’m going to be spending my valuable time searching, I want it to be for something eternal. That, for me, is in God’s Word that I can hide in my heart and use in the darkest, most mundane of days, and prayer that connects me to Him and shuts out the distractions of the world.

That kind of contentment really makes me a better mom anyway ☺

Leave a Reply

