4 Powerful Ways to Impact this School Year

(written by Emily Matthews)

I see you, new kindergarten mom. You want to be excited, but are anxious. You are thinking, “How is this little kid going to go to school all day? How will they make it to the right class? He can’t be without me all day.”

I see you, mom. You, who back to school is “business as usual,” but your child is anxious about a new class and teacher. You, who has moved and are sending kids to an unfamiliar school with unfamiliar teachers. You, who is trying to get your kids excited about school after a rough time last year. You, who your kids are getting older and moving to middle school or high school.

The unknown can feel intimidating. But I see you.

Let’s chat…

I co-lead the Moms of Elementary group. Maybe because I’ve done this before, I get to be the “expert” for back to school? (Which is ridiculous because I didn’t even have one of my kids’ birth certificate to register her for kindergarten. But, I digress…)

We normally post here on Mondays, but with school starting up this week for the majority of us, I wanted to get this to you a little early so you can get started on this list … because these things work.

I want to give you some powerful, yet practical things to do this back-to-school season. Even if you do just one of these things, it could impact you and your child’s school year immensely.

1. Don’t tell your kid their feelings are silly. Or not valid. You have an anxious, scared kid. Acknowledge it and talk about it. Don’t say, “you’ll be fine. You don’t need to be scared.” Let them tell you what they are feeling.

2. Keep your eyes open for a mom who may need some guidance or reassurance. Be the hands and feet of Christ and walk with a mom who needs some extra love. Offer directions around the school or give carline tips. Even just an encouraging smile can go a long way.

3. Find a prayer group for your school. I know, you’re thinking, “prayer group? We go to public school.” They exist. And I can help you find it and get connected. Leave a comment or send me a message. It WILL CHANGE SCHOOL LIFE FOR YOU AND YOUR KIDS. (Can you tell I feel strongly about this one? 😉)

4. PRAY. This is the biggest, most important one.

I am a big fan of scripture-based prayer. Something powerful happens when we use God’s own Word in prayer. But I want this to be practical for you to use. So, insert your child’s names into the below scripture and get praying. (I recommend doing this out loud. It helps with memory. I don’t have much scripture memorized where I can quote exact wording and passage reference, but it is tucked in my heart).

Lord, help ________, trust you with all their heart.  (Proverbs 3:5)

Lord, may ___________ not be anxious about anything and pray about everything and guard _________ ‘s heart and mind.  (Philippians 4:6-7)

Lord, do not let ____________worry about anything. Just as you take care of the flowers in th field, you care for him/her. You know what he needs and if he seeks your kingdom it will be given to him/her. (Luke 12:27-30)

Lord, when _________ feels burdened, give him/her rest.  (Matthew 11:28)

Lord, give _________ peace at all times and in every way, for you are the Lord of peace.   (2 Thessalonians 3:16)

Lord, help ________ cast all his/her cares on you and sustain him/her, for you will never let the righteous be shaken.  (Psalm 55:22)

Lord, help _________ to be strong and courageous and not to be afraid because you are with him/her wherever they go. (Joshua 1:9-10)

Lord, may your unfailing love be ________’s comfort.   (Psalm 119:76)

God of hope, may __________ overflow with hope by the power of the Holy Spirit. (Romans 15:13)

Lord, help _______ to proper respect to teachers as you teach us in your word. (1 Peter 2:17)

Lord, I pray that ______ would be committed to prayer and not lose heart or give up.  (Luke 18:1)

Lord, help ________ listen to advise and accept discipline.    (Proverbs 19:20)

Lord, I pray for __________ ‘s friendships. Let him/her walk with the wise and become wise.     (Proverbs 13:20)

Lord, clothe ___________ with compassion, kindness, humility, gentleness, and patience.       (Colossians 3:12)

 

One thought on “4 Powerful Ways to Impact this School Year

Leave a Reply

