Psalm 27: Brave Patience

 Written by Jessica H. Morris

Last Wednesday we started our study over the book of Psalms during the Moms at Hope AM.  I am incredibly excited about this study.  The book of Psalms is filled with all kinds of emotions. Pain. Anger. Joy. Fear. Depression. Excitement. Sounds a lot like motherhood huh?;)

But seriously, it is a book of raw honesty and vulnerability before the Lord.  And I love that.  And need to be reminded that God can handle both me and my emotions (thank you Jesus!).

If you weren’t able to make the teaching, reading all 14 verses of Psalm 27 is worth the read.  But for our short time here, I thought I would just share with you what stuck with me.

Verse 14….

PSALM 27:14 (NLT)

“Wait patiently for the Lord. Be brave and courageous. Yes, wait patiently for the Lord.”

The psalmist spends the beginning of the chapter first by proclaiming their faith (over fear) in God.  It’s almost as though the psalmist is saying, “Lord, there’s a lot of overwhelming things going on in my life BUT I am choosing to trust in you!”  & Immediately after they proclaim their faith in God, they go into their honest, raw lament.

“Hear my cry!”

“Answer me!”

“Don’t leave me now!”

“Hold me close.”

And after this incredibly intimate, heartfelt prayer the psalmist says in verse 14,

“Wait patiently for the Lord. Be brave and courageous. Yes, wait patiently for the Lord.”

I love that THESE words are the conclusion to the prayer.

To wait.

To be brave.

To be courageous.

& Then to wait some more.

I partially I love this reminder because I am terrible at waiting.  And I partially love this because I need it… A LOT.  But honestly, I believe it’s a truth most of need to be reminded of… often.

Reminded to wait.  And not the kind of waiting that is “sitting on our hands, wondering when God will show up” kind of waiting.  But the kind of waiting that is BRAVE & COURAGEOUS & ACTIVE.

The kind of waiting where we are obediently following God, day by day.  Step by step.  Hour by hour. Trusting that God will come through, when God is going to come through.  In His timing, when we or others or the situation is just right.

THIS kind of waiting is tough.  And it calls us to be brave and courageous in the middle of circumstances. And THIS kind of waiting is the brave patience the psalmist is calling us to live.

So, as you wait, be brave & courageous.

Wait well.  Remain obedient.  & Know that the God we serve has a plan far bigger and beyond what we can see before us.

Leave a Reply

