A Wife of Noble Character – I Think…

(Written by Rachel Pickel)

“A wife of noble character who can find? She is worth far more than rubies. Her husband has full confidence in her and lacks nothing of value. She brings him good, not harm, all the days of her life.” Proverbs 31:10-12

 

What I love about Proverbs31 is that it’s about us. We wives and mothers have been getting it done, putting food on the table, shoes on our baby’s feet, and making our house a home since the beginning of time. Can I get an AMEN, sisters?! *wink*

“She gets up while it is still dark; she provides food for her family.” Proverbs 31:15

This past year I went back to work full-time. Since the moment my husband and I started our family, I’ve always worked at least part-time. Whether it was running our business, coaching, or serving our church; I’ve always worked to some degree. On top of being a wife and mother.

“She sets about her work vigorously; her arms are strong for her tasks.” Proverbs 31:17

The transition from being a part-time working mommy to full-time working mommy was bumpy. It took about two months to figure out how to get myself and the little ones out the door by 7:15 (that’s AM) without yelling (too much) or scaring children (and husband) into submission. I quickly became a professional cat herder, with heels (‘cuz momma’s gotta look good).

“She sees that her trading is profitable, and her lamp does not go out at night.” Proverbs 31:18

In my rush and added daily tasks, I quickly discovered what was essential for the survival of my family. The house wasn’t as clean and dinners became less homemade – but it worked. My workout routine became non-routine. My special projects (aka chores) fell to the wayside. Camp Pickel was more about survival and counting our blessing than it was about the fluff. Being stretched thin made me realize what’s important and what is not. It also helped me identify where I lost my time.

“She watches over the affairs of her household and does not eat the bread of idleness.” Proverbs 31:27

There were days when we’d be driving to school and I’d ask the children to be quiet in the back and pray. I’d ask them both to take turns asking God to help them through the day and to say, “thank you” for what they have. Somehow, those few moments talking to Jesus gave me a little wash of serenity to get me through the morning (even if I arrived on two wheels).

“She is clothed with strength and dignity; she can laugh at the days to come. She speaks with wisdom, and faithful instruction is on her tongue.” Proverbs 31: 25-26

In the end, all that truly matters is my faith and my family. Regardless of my home, my jobs, my husband’s job, our children’s adventures, our righteousness is what matters most.

No matter what I do, I must always remember, “Many women do noble things, but you surpass them all. Charm is deceptive, and beauty is fleeting; but a woman who fears the Lord is to be praised.”

I choose to Fear the Lord, for I am a Wife of Noble Character.

One thought on “A Wife of Noble Character – I Think…

  1. In the wash.
    The task is not yet complete, started and in good faith. We , simple people, may have the opportunity to wash THE LORD’S Feet.
    Our tasks , monumental as they mount, can become the mountains that keep us from the path. The PATH is made for you, you just have to start walking through it, enjoying all the flavor ,sounds, and even obstacles before you. It is in Grace that we humble our selves to be on the PATH. For we are in the wash, peace will be realized when the wash is DONE.
    IT IS, and yet TO BE.
    Dad

    Like

Leave a Reply

