Be Still

Sit.  Be Still.

(written by Rachel Pickel)

Heard this one before, right? How many times did you say that to your little ones yesterday? Too many to count? Well, I’m not talking to them. I’m talking to you!  Yes – YOU.  To the momma who is sipping her morning coffee, scrolling her phone or iPad, going through her daily lists. It’s the busy month of May. Much like her colder sister, December, May offers pretty spring flowers and open-toe shoe options for your wardrobe. Yes!

BE STILL

You rule the raging of the sea; when its waves rise, you still them.  Psalm 89.9

My month of May might look a lot like yours. It might be filled to brim with T-ball/baseball games, birthday parties, school track meets or field days, field trips, community gatherings like Memphis in May (side note – whoever decided it would be a fun time to have dozens of festivals packed into one month clearly wasn’t a MOM), Steeplechase/Derby, more birthdays, and most important of all…..MOTHER’S DAY (but, yet again not about you but your mom).

BE STILL

Then they cried to the Lord in their trouble, and he delivered them from their distress.  He made the storm still, and the waves of the sea were hushed.  Psalm 107:28-29

I know it’s hard to grasp this concept.   You, the maker of the home and bringer of the bacon.  All things that make your family, big or small, run smoothly are because of you.  You are everything to everyone, yet you too find it hard to be still.

BE STILL

Be still before the Lord and wait patiently for him…  Psalm 37:7

Listen to your Heavenly Father.  The same way you require a few moments from your children to act on their best behavior and ask them to quietly sit still.  You too, must heed your own advice.  Now stop that multi-tasking for just one moment – I’m serious here!

BE STILL

   Wait for the Lord; be strong and take heart and wait for the Lord.  Psalm 27:14   

The Bible, specifically Psalms, tells us in dozens of ways to look to God and be still.  To not fear and be quiet for His Word.  As Christian moms, we cheat our STILL time into doing it while we fold clothes, drive to carline, after we put the kids down, or even a moment in between meetings at work.  But it’s not the full attention that God truly deserves when he commands us to be STILL.

BE STILL

  Find rest, O my soul, in God alone; my hope comes from him.  Psalm 62:5

Life is tough and busy and being a mom is probably the hardest job you’ve ever had (it is for me, at least).  I always feel like I’ve got a mountain to climb.  I know we mommas can do just about anything.  Our toolboxes (aka handbags or diaper bags) are packed full of everything we think we need to get through the day.  But those worldly tools only go so far.

Take a moment for the Lord.

SIT DOWN.  BE STILL.

BE STILL

     Be still, and know that I am God.  Psalm 46:10

One thought on “Be Still

  1. Yes!!! And for us Moms of older kids, May is full of exams, graduation parties, and moving college kids back in for the summer. And for me … last week held all my lasts of the year. I hate the good-byes. Even for a few months. But this week I am Still for a bit. And then I fly to Denver to surprise my Mom for Mother’s Day. And just be still with her for a bit. Mother’s Day with my own kiddos has been postponed until the items at the top are complete.

    Like

Leave a Reply

